Our Governing Body

“The school provides a good quality of education. In the short time they have been at the school, the headteacher and deputy headteacher have raised expectations in relation to pupils’ attendance, behaviour and achievement.” – Ofsted, November 2019


What does a governing body do?

Our governing body helps the school to set high standards by planning for the school’s future and setting targets for school improvement. Our governors offer support and advice, while holding the school to account for its results and performance.

Our community governors and parent governors, as members of the local community, help the school to respond to the needs of the public and make us accountable to the public for what we do.

Governors are involved in setting the strategic direction of the school and exercises its responsibilities in partnership with the Head Teacher and the senior team. The governing body, while not intervening in the day to day running of the school, maintain a presence at key school events and take an active interest in our work.

Upcoming Meetings 2021/22

113 Sept22 Sept27 Sept11 Oct
28 Nov17 Nov13 Dec1 Nov
331 Jan19 Jan17 Jan12 Jan
428 Mar2 Mar14 Mar
523 May4 May25 Apr 9 May
611 Jul15 Jun6 Jun20 Jun

*AC (Audit & Compliance Scrutiny Committee)

** ES (Education Scrutiny Committee)

The following additional training dates are suggested with content to be confirmed:

Wednesday 13 October 2021
Wednesday 1 December 2021
Wednesday 2 February 2022
Wednesday 23 March 2022
Wednesday 18 May 2022
Wednesday 6 July 2022

Members of the Academy Trust

Rev Canon Alan Robson
Dr Neil Appleby

Who are our governors?

Contact The Governors

If you have any correspondence for the governing body please post it to.

Rev Alan Robson
Chair of Governors
Sir Robert Pattinson Academy
Moor Lane
North Hykeham

Rev Canon Alan Robson – Chair of Governors

Alan has previously been a Chair of Governors at Wooton CE Primary, Spilsby Primary, Toynton All Saints Primary and De Aston Academy. He is a Methodist Minister, as well as a Canon of Honour at Lincoln Cathedral. Alan is Lincolnshire’s Agricultural Chaplain and a board member at Hill Holt Wood, Green Synergy, Lincolnshire Rural Support Network and the Education Committee of Lincolnshire Agricultural Society.

Dr Neil Appleby – Vice Chair

Dr. Neil Appleby is a local dentist. He became a governor of SRPA in January 2010 and became Chair of the governing body in April 2013. He completed the NCTL Chair of Governors course in 2013 and is the Safeguarding lead on the governing body. He has run his own small business for 22 years and brings knowledge of working in a highly regulated industry.

Mr Dale Hardy – Head Teacher

Mr Hardy has led SRPA as Head Teacher since September 2018 securing a ‘Good’ Ofsted outcome in November 2019. As an experienced school leader and Local Leader in Education, he leads on the implementation of the Trust’s strategy as well as mentoring and coaching other Head teachers at varying stages of their career.

Mr Louis Harman – Community Governor

Louis is a solicitor and lecturer specialising in immigration law, employment law and matters of general litigation. He currently teaches at the University of Lincoln whilst also providing legal consultancy services as an associate at In-House (PBS) Limited.

Mr Norman Norris – Community Governor

Norman is a Supplemental List (retired) Justice of the Peace. During his time on the Bench he was an approved Court Chairman. He was also a member of the Lord Chancellors Advisory Committee which has responsibility for the recruitment of Magistrates and for dealing with misconduct matters relating to them. He has previously Chaired the City of Lincoln Standards Committee, the Lincolnshire Police and Crime Panel and was Vice-Chair of the Bishop of Lincoln’s Safeguarding Oversight Panel.

Mr Paul Charman - Parent Governor

Paul is Deputy Director of the Careers and Employability Service at the University of Nottingham. He specialises in supporting students career planning and building the skills and experience to be successful after university. He has over 20 years of experience in education across a number of institutions and is a qualified Careers Adviser.

Mrs Tracey Gibson – Staff Governor

Started employment at SRPA in January 1994 as a science laboratory technician, was promoted to senior laboratory technician in 2001 and now part of the safeguarding and attendance team. I was a staff governor for 7 years until 2010 but had to step down due to personal circumstances, I have now re-joined the governing body and am an SRPA support staff member.

The following have left our Governing Body in the last 12 months.

Mrs Emma Kinna 11.1.22

Ms Sarah Adlington 30.8.21

Mrs Alison Braithwaite 23.4.21


If you are interested in becoming a Governor, please contact Mrs S Gookey using enquiries@srpa.co.uk

Letters to parents
Sixth Form